March 4, 2024
Lanka Special Steels Limited Wins Multiple Awards at the National Convention on Quality and Productivity

Lanka Special Steels Limited Wins Multiple Awards at the National Convention on Quality and Productivity

Dec 30, 2023

Lanka Special Steels Limited (LSSL), a leading manufacturer of galvanized steel wires, is proud to announce its exceptional achievement at the National Convention on Quality and Productivity (NCQP) Awards 2023. The event, hosted by the Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Quality and Productivity (SLAAQP), recognized LSSL with four prestigious Gold Awards and one Bronze Award.

The NCQP Awards, themed “Sustainable development through innovative quality solutions”, commended excellence in quality and productivity within the manufacturing and services sector. LSSL’s success in the Continuous Improvement category showcased the company’s dedication to operational excellence and was represented by its Cross Functional Teams (CFT) outshining over 400 teams across various categories, Lanka Special Steels Limited emerged as the standout winner, securing 4 Gold Awards and 1 Bronze Award. These accolades acknowledge the outstanding contributions of teams Awanetha, Target, Shakthi, Titans, and Verge in implementing best practices and driving sustainable improvements.

Mr. Pravin De Silva, Director and CEO of Lanka SSL, expressed his pride in the achievements, stating, “Winning five awards at this convention is commendable and something to be proud of. It reflects the dedication and commitment of our teams to quality and productivity. We have created a culture of quality, innovation, and excellence here at LSSL that goes from top to bottom and bottom to top. These awards recognize that spirit and reaffirm our commitment to these principles.”

Representing Lanka SSL were Akeela Nawaf, S Niranchala and Samidi from team Titans; Madusanka, Kosala and G T Madusanka  from team Awanetha; Akhila, Susantha, Thusitha and Oshan from team Target; Chamara, Mendis and Jayarathna from team Shakthi; with these four teams securing Gold Awards – and Gihani, Zaharan, Achinika and Sachini from Team Verge, which secured a Bronze Award, collectively demonstrating their unwavering commitment to quality and productivity by adopting lean manufacturing and management principles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *